Loading Events

Dorothee Dormann on Aberrant Phase Transitions of Neurodegeneration-Linked RNA-Binding Proteins: control mechanisms and functional consequences

Event Date February 15
Time
10:00 am - 11:00 am - EST
Tags
Organizers Dewpoint Condensates.com
Location Online

Our research is focused on the molecular mechanisms that underlie the pathological redistribution and aggregation of RNA-binding proteins (RBPs) in neurodegenerative diseases, in particular ALS (amyotrophic lateral sclerosis) and FTD (frontotemporal dementia). We are especially interested in the RBPs TDP-43 and FUS, which are genetically linked to ALS and FTD and accumulate in aberrant cytoplasmic aggregates in the brains of ALS and FTD patients. Our previous work has shown that RBP mislocalization and aggregation is driven by defects in nuclear import and aberrant liquid liquid phase separation and is heavily regulated by post-translational modifications.

The talk will focus on recently discovered mechanisms that regulate phase separation and aberrant phase transitions of disease-linked RBPs, including nuclear import receptors (importins) and post-translational modifications, and will discuss how we address the physiological and pathological relevance of RBP phase transitions.

Talk by:
Dorothee Dormann
JGU and IMB Mainz

Start time in various timezones:
7:00 am PST
9:00 am CST
10:00 am EST
3:00 pm UTC
4:00 pm CET

Create an Account or Sign In to register for the talk.