Loading Events

Huaiying Zhang on Liquid-Liquid Phase Separation in Telomere Maintenance of ALT Cancer

Event Date February 24
Time
10:00 am - 11:00 am - EST
Tags
Organizers Dewpoint Condensates.com
Location Online

Liquid-liquid phase separation (LLPS) is implicated in many cellular processes but the underlying mechanisms have only begun to be understood. My lab develops chem-optogenetic tools to control LLPS in live cells to dissect its functional contributions. In particular, we investigate how LLPS enables telomerase-free cancer cells to achieve immortality through an alternative lengthening of telomere (ALT) pathway for telomere maintenance. I will talk about using chem-optogenetic tools to induce condensates on telomeres and assess their functions in telomere maintenance of telomerase-free cancer cells.

Talk by:
Huaiying Zhang
Carnegie Mellon University

Start time in various timezones:
7:00 am PST
9:00 am CST
10:00 am EST
3:00 pm GMT
4:00 pm CET

Create an Account or Sign In to register for the talk.