Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

i-PCG Masterclass: Prof. Esther Amstad

The i-PCG 2020 Webinar Series

The International Polymer Colloid Group (IPCG) was founded in 1972 as a forum for the exchange of ideas and emerging research activities for scientists and engineers from both academia and industry who study or use polymer colloids.

It is a vibrant scientific community who normally meet face-to-face every two years to discuss the latest global developments related to polymer colloid science (2013 Shanghai, 2015 New Hampshire, 2017 the Basque Country, 2019 Singapore).

As a result of the global COVID19 pandemic, we are taking the IPCG forum online with a series of weekly scientific webinars, called the i-PCG 2020 Webinars. Anyone who is interested in science can participate as audience member, or even better, as presenter. All is free.

 

i-PCG Masterclass: Prof. Esther Amstad

Drops: A bio-inspired tool to structure materials

Nature uses drops to build soft materials possessing well-defined structures and locally varying compositions and therefore display exceptional mechanical properties. Inspired by nature, we use emulsion drops as building blocks of macroscopic granular hydrogels. I will demonstrate how individually dispersed emulsion drops can be additive manufactured into macroscopic materials and show how their structure and local composition influence their mechanical properties.

https://www.epfl.ch/labs/smal/

 

Participate in i-PCG 2020 Webinars

We are looking for people who would like to participate and sign up to give a webinar talk or contribute as an audience. There are 2 types of talks. Research talks: Each talk is 20 mins. There will be 2 talks per webinar. Masterclasses: A 40-45 min educational talk to explain a particular concept. There will be 1 masterclass per webinar.

We would advice speakers to check with their institution/company if the content of the talk is suitable for public broadcasting.

The i-PCG 2020 webinars will run weekly on 2 different timezones.

Europe/Asia Timezones: TUESDAY 10:00am (CEST) : 16:00 (CST) : 19:00 (AEDT)

Europe/Americas Timezones: THURSDAY 09:00am (PDT) : 12:00 (EDT) : 18:00 (CEST)

If you have signed up for one or both timezones you will receive a message prior to the Webinar by email with a bespoke dial-in code for that particular i-PCG Webinar session.