Loading Events

PROTEIN FOLDING & DYNAMICS WEBINAR: Peter G. Wolynes

This is a bi-weekly Protein Folding and Dynamics Webinar, organized by Hagen Hofmann, Ben Schuler and Gilad Haran

 

Peter G. Wolynes

Department of Chemistry, Rice University

 

Protein Dynamics and the Brain

The brain is a molecular computer. How the brain computes, and feels and learns and remembers remain great mysteries. Neurobiologists have, however, identified some key protein actors in the mechanisms of learning and memory. I will describe some theoretical and computational efforts in understanding some of the molecular aspects of 1) Hebbian learning through the regulatable assembly of the actin cytoskeleton in dendritic spines, 2) the hypothesis that long-term memory involves a functional prion protein and 3) some aspects of the physical chemistry of aggregation processes that are involved in the pathogenesis of Huntington’s disease and Alzheimer’s disease.

 

Monday 10.08.

8:00 PDT – 11:00 EDT – 15:00 UTC

16:00 UK – 17:00 CET – 18:00 IL