Loading Events

Serena Sanulli on Chromatin and its Phases

Event Date January 27
Time
10:00 am - 11:00 am - EST
Tags
Organizers Dewpoint Condensates.com
Location Online

DNA is wrapped around nucleosomes, forming chromatin chains that are further organized in three-dimensional assemblies. The architecture of these assemblies is crucial in determining cell transcriptional programs. Yet, the principles that underlie and regulate the architecture and organization of chromatin are poorly understood. I will discuss data illustrating how HP1 proteins drive chromatin compaction into heterochromatin. I will propose a model for heterochromatin organization in which HP1 proteins couple chromatin compaction and phase separation by increasing the accessibility and dynamics of nucleosomes. I will further discuss the biological implications of the proposed model in chromatin assemblies and nuclear compartmentalization.

Talk by:
Serena Sanulli
Stanford University School of Medicine

Start time in various timezones:
7:00 am PST
9:00 am CST
10:00 am EST
3:00 pm GMT
4:00 pm CET

Create an Account or Sign In to register for the talk.